A Perfect Day in London (If Money Was No Option)

13774292_1104544456287027_2016316378_n
Tower Bridge in the winter sunshine – Josephine Sherwood 

It’s drizzling outside, I’m cocooned in a fleecy blanket and I’ve got a candle burning. Days like these always get me daydreaming about autumnal adventures in my favourite city on earth. 

Inspired by the wonderful Hannah Gale , here is what my ideal day in the capital would look like. We’ll ignore the fact that my current bank balance wouldn’t take me far past midday and just pretend I’m a Chic City Gal who can sashay around London with careless abandon, kay? Kay. 

9AM – BREAKFAST AT THE MILESTONE HOTEL, KENSINGTON 

The day would start off with breakfast at a beautiful boutique hotel in Kensington. The Milestone somehow manages to be sumptuously elegant without being pretentious and intimidating. The staff are so warm and welcoming and the hotel has a cosy, antique atmosphere that will make you feel like you’re living in a scene from an Agatha Christie novel; think mahogany furniture, wood panelling and a roaring fire. Breakfast at Cheneston’s Restaurant is the place to go if you want to start the day with a touch of luxury. I recommend the pancakes topped with fruit, a dollop of cream and lashings of maple syrup…accompanied by a cup of English Breakfast tea, of course *salivates everywhere*.

https://www.milestonehotel.com/

10.30AM – A WANDER AROUND THE V&A 

What better way to spend a morning than ambling around one of the best art and design museums in the world. You can guarantee that there will always be an amazing exhibition on at the V&A. Current and upcoming exhibitions include ‘You Say You Want a Revolution? Records and Rebels 1966-1970’ (10th September 2016 – 26th February 2017) and ‘Pink Floyd: Their Mortal Remains’ (13th May – 1st October 2017). The one I’m most looking forward to is a retrospective dedicated to Spanish couturier Cristobal Balenciaga which will take place from May 2017. If you’re a fashion fanatic, it’s definitely one to put in your calendar. 

https://www.vam.ac.uk/

12PM – LUNCH AT HOMESLICE, NEAL’S YARD, COVENT GARDEN

I stumbled upon this little gem a few weeks ago and g o o d  g r i e f  am I glad that I did. Tucked away in the vibrant Neal’s Yard near Covent Garden, Homeslice offers the most mouth-watering selection of pizzas, from classic basics to more innovative flavour combinations. My favourite was the mushroom, ricotta, pumpkin seed and chilli pizza. You can either opt to sit in and share a gigantic 20″ pizza or grab a large slice to go for £4. Take. My. Money. 

http://www.homeslicepizza.co.uk/

1.30PM – SHOPPING IN COVENT GARDEN 

Naturally, a trip to Covent Garden wouldn’t be complete before doing some serious damage in the Beauty Quarter. In an ideal world, a sizable chunk of money would be splurged on Charlotte Tilbury, Chanel and Urban Decay cosmetics. I’m thinking at least two bags on each arm. IMAGINE. I think I need to lie down (yes, I realise I sound disgustingly materialistic. Humour me.) 

3PM – COFFEE AND CAKE AT LADUREE, COVENT GARDEN

If you’re looking for the most delicious and aesthetically pleasing coffee and cake experience ever, then look no further. Famed for their too-goddamn-pretty-to-eat macarons, Laduree offers a wide selection of Parisian-style cakes, pastries and light bites. I would opt for a hot chocolate (which is basically a dessert in itself) and then buy a selection of pastries to take out as the mint green and gold packaging is beautiful. A sucker for branding? Me? 

https://www.coventgarden.london/shopping/laduree

4PM – OXFORD STREET 

At this point I’d cab it over to the High Street of All High Streets. I’d start by perusing the massive flagship Topshop (which I’ve virtually spent a whole day in, on a number of occasions. They have a cafe and toilets, guys. It’s easily done). Then, I’d head on over to Lush and buy all manner of bath bombs and face masks for an evening pamper sesh (because apparently I haven’t been rocking the girly stereotype enough yet). 

6PM – BACK TO THE MILESTONE HOTEL 

As night draws in, I’d head back to the Milestone for a leisurely dinner and maybe a cocktail or two (lol, dining alone in a 5* hotel. Who do I think I am). Then I’d toddle back up to my cosy boudoir and create my own little spa set up in the bathroom with my aforementioned Lush products. Once I’m sufficiently pampered and smelling delicious, I’d wrap myself in the big, white, double duvet and watch a film. Bladdy lovely. 

How would you spend 24 hours in London?

Josephine x  

Leave a Reply

